This site is intended for health professionals only

At the heart of general practice since 1960

Read the latest issue online

CAMHS won't see you now

Non-doctor in running to become new GMC chair

By Gareth Iacobucci

The GMC has announced the three nominations for the new chair of the Council, including one lay candidate.

The nominations, one of whom will be selected to replace current chair Sir Graeme Catto, who departs in June, are as follows:

• Dr John Jenkins CBE, a member of the GMC since 2003 and previous chair of the Standards and Ethics Committee. Also a member of the UK Postgraduate Medical Education and Training Board, where he has been elected chairman of its Training Committee.

• Mrs Ann Robinson, currently a partner in Rush Strategic Consultancy, director of Consumer Policy, USwitch Ltd, director of Public Awareness, FAS Safe Register and a trustee of the Mario Borrelli Naples Fund. She has worked in the Civil Service, and held positions as chief executive of Scope, and the executive chair of Energywatch.

• Professor Peter Rubin, former chair of Postgraduate Medical Education and Training Board; chairman of GMC Education Committee; dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, University of Nottingham; council heads of Medical Schools Executive Committee; chairman CHMS/GMC Working party on medical student fitness to practice; chairman, CHMS Admissions Committee. Currently a board member of the Higher Education Funding Council for England. Practises as a Physician.

The GMC has never been led by a non-doctor in it's 150 year existence, but the nomination of Mrs Robinson leaves the door open for the first lay chair of the Council, which is now comprised of 24 members, 12 laymen and 11 doctors.

The nominations were invited following the meeting of the GMC's Council on 25 February 2009, where all Council members were eligible to stand.

Electoral Reform Services will conduct the ballot and will count and validate the votes, following the GMC 's next Council meeting on 26 March.

The new chair is set to be announced on 6 April 2009, and will take up office between 6 April 2009 and the end of June 2009, on a date to be agreed.

The newly elected chair will hold the office until 31 December 2012.

Rate this article 

Click to rate

  • 1 star out of 5
  • 2 stars out of 5
  • 3 stars out of 5
  • 4 stars out of 5
  • 5 stars out of 5

0 out of 5 stars

Have your say