This site is intended for health professionals only

At the heart of general practice since 1960

Six GPs join GMC leader in New Year's honours list

By Steve Nowottny

The chief executive of the GMC is among a number of medical leaders and GPs recognised by the Queen in the New Years' Honours List.

Finlay Scott, who has been chief executive at the regulatory body since 1994, and is spearheading plans for GP licensing and revalidation, was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire ‘for public service'.

Mr Scott said: 'I am delighted to have received this honour, which reflects the sustained contribution of my colleagues, and the leadership provided by Sir Graeme Catto and by the Council.'

Other key healthcare figures recognised include Ben Dyson, Director of Primary Care at the Department of Health, also awarded a CBE, and Professor Alan Maynard, professor of health economics at the University of York, who was awarded an OBE.

Six GPs were named in the honours.


  • Dr James Cave, a GP in Chieveley, Berkshire


  • Dr David Adey, a GP in Southampton
  • Dr Parvin Bhatia, a GP in Richmond, south London
  • Dr Rosalie Dunn, a GP in Blantyre, Lanarkshire,
  • Dr Surinder Jolly, a GP in Manchester
  • Dr Alan Melville, a GP in Dunfermline, Fife.

The New Years honours list included awards for 966 individuals, with health workers making up 8 percent of the total.

Rate this article  (5 average user rating)

Click to rate

  • 1 star out of 5
  • 2 stars out of 5
  • 3 stars out of 5
  • 4 stars out of 5
  • 5 stars out of 5

0 out of 5 stars

Have your say