This site is intended for health professionals only

Third wave of CCGs pass authorisation

Sixty-two more CCGs have been authorised by the NHS Commissioning Board, although five will require ‘intensive support’.

The third wave of CCGs to undergo authorisation will join the 101 CCGs which have already been approved to take control of NHS budgets and commission NHS services for their communities

Dame Barbara Hakin, the NHS Commissioning Board’s national director for commissioning development, said that 163 CCGs are now in full operation, although five among the new crop will needed ‘intensive support’.

Dame Barbara said: ‘The vast majority of these 62 new organisations have demonstrated excellence and a very high level of achievement and are clearly ready for the challenge of leading their local health communities in partnership with the public and local partner organisations.’

The remaining 48 CCGs will be authorised next month, so that from April 1 a total of 211 CCGs will be responsible for £65 billion of the NHS’s annual £95 billion budget, Dame Barbara added.

Dr Michael Dixon, interim president of NHS Clinical Commissioners, the independent organisation representing CCGs, said: ‘Given the timelines and the fact that the Health and Social Care Act was passed less than a year ago, it is extraordinary that clinicians have been able to step up to the mark and get their organisations to this stage in such a short time.’

Each CCG will need an ‘individual package of support’, said Dr Dixon. He added that the NHS Commissioning Board’s role is to ensure CCGs are fit deliver their responsibilities rather than to ‘micro-manage’ how they deliver patient outcomes.


The 62 CCGs authorised in Wave 3 are:

  • NHS Aylesbury Vale CCG
  • NHS Barnet CCG
  • NHS Bath and North East Somerset CCG
  • NHS Birmingham South and Central CCG
  • NHS Bracknell and Ascot CCG
  • NHS Bristol CCG
  • NHS Bury CCG
  • NHS Camden CCG
  • NHS Cannock Chase CCG
  • NHS Central Manchester CCG
  • NHS Chiltern CCG
  • NHS City and Hackney CCG
  • NHS Corby CCG
  • NHS Dorset CCG
  • NHS Eastbourne, Hailsham and Seaford CCG
  • NHS Erewash CCG
  • NHS Gateshead CCG
  • NHS Greenwich CCG
  • NHS Halton CCG
  • NHS Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby CCG
  • NHS Haringey CCG
  • NHS Harrogate and Rural District CCG
  • NHS Hastings and Rother CCG
  • NHS Herefordshire CCG
  • NHS Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale CCG
  • NHS Lancashire North CCG
  • NHS Lincolnshire East CCG
  • NHS Luton CCG
  • NHS Mansfield and Ashfield CCG
  • NHS Merton CCG
  • NHS Newark and Sherwood CCG
  • NHS Newcastle North and East CCG
  • NHS Newcastle West CCG
  • NHS Newham CCG
  • NHS North Derbyshire CCG
  • NHS North Hampshire CCG
  • NHS North Manchester CCG
  • NHS North Norfolk CCG
  • NHS North Somerset CCG
  • NHS North Tyneside CCG
  • NHS Norwich CCG
  • NHS Richmond CCG
  • NHS Scarborough and Ryedale CCG
  • NHS Slough CCG
  • NHS Solihull CCG
  • NHS South Gloucestershire CCG
  • NHS South Manchester CCG
  • NHS South Norfolk CCG
  • NHS South Tyneside CCG
  • NHS South Warwickshire CCG
  • NHS Southern Derbyshire CCG
  • NHS St Helens CCG
  • NHS Stafford and Surrounds CCG
  • NHS Surrey Heath CCG
  • NHS Sutton CCG
  • NHS Tameside and Glossop CCG
  • NHS Tower Hamlets CCG
  • NHS Vale of York CCG
  • NHS West Essex CCG
  • NHS West Lancashire CCG
  • NHS Windsor, Ascot and Maidenhead CCG
  • NHS Wolverhampton CCG