This site is intended for health professionals only

Professor Nigel Mathers elected as RCGP honorary secretary

Professor Nigel Mathers has been elected honorary secretary of council for the RCGP, the college has announced.

Professor Mathers, who is currently the RCGP’s vice-chair, and has held other roles at the college for the past ten years, was elected this week at the annual conference for members held in Harrogate and will serve a four year term from November 2013 until November 2017. 

He will lead the development of College governance, encourage greater involvement from devolved councils and faculties, work closely Robert Foster, the new company secretary, and will chair a new Governance & Nominations committee.

A professor of primary care at Sheffield University and a GP in Sheffield, he will take over from Professor Amanda Howe, who will stand down in November to take on the role of vice-chair.

The role was contested by three others: Dr Dennis Cox, Dr Mary Lowth and Dr Helena McKeown.

RCGP chief executive and returning officer, Neil Hunt, welcomed Professor Mathers to the role.

He said: ‘This is a very important role for the College and we look forward to working with Nigel to carry on the excellent work already undertaken by Amanda to ensure College processes are as effective as they can be.

‘We had four very strong candidates who contested the role, demonstrating its importance to the College. Thank you to all the nominees for being involved and making it an exciting election.’