This site is intended for health professionals only

Over 50 more CCGs to commission GP services from April

Another 52 CCGs have been authorised to take on delegated responsibility for commissioning GP services from next April.

They join 65 CCGs who did so in April 2015 and, subject to signing local agreements, this takes the number commissioning the majority of GP services in 2016/17 to approximately half of all CCGs, NHS England said.

It comes as initiatives by CCGs commissioning general practice in 2015 included practices dropping QOF and new local contracts for GP practices.

NHS England’s primary care co-commissioning programme oversight group co-chair and chief clinical officer for NHS Blackpool CCG, GP Dr Amanda Doyle, said: ’It’s good news that over 50% of all CCGs will be operating under delegated arrangements, it shows ambition and enthusiasm to take the lead in changing the way care is delivered.

’If we are to truly transform out of hospital care and build primary care that will be sustainable for the future, CCGs must have the commissioning levers, as well as the resources, to succeed for their patients and local populations.’

However, local leaders have warned the new commissioning arrangements are ‘confusing’ to GP practices, with many unaware their CCG had taken on the responsibility.

In full: The 52 new CCGs to commission GP services from April

  • South Tees CCG
  • Hartlepool and Stockton on tees CCG
  • Darlington CCG
  • Northumberland CCG
  • Leeds West CCG
  • Trafford CCG
  • Tameside and Glossop CCG
  • Bolton CCG
  • Doncaster CCG
  • Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale CCG
  • Eastern Cheshire CCG
  • Stockport CCG
  • Greater Huddersfield CCG
  • Leeds North CCG
  • Leeds South and East CCG
  • North Manchester CCG
  • Salford CCG
  • South Manchester CCG
  • Vale Royal CCG
  • South Cheshire CCG
  • Central Manchester CCG
  • Sheffield CCG
  • Bury CCG
  • Redditch & Bromsgrove CCG
  • Wyre Forest CCG
  • Cambridge & Peterborough CCG
  • Walsall CCG
  • Great Yarmouth and Waveney CCG
  • Corby CCG
  • Richmond CCG
  • Wandsworth CCG
  • Sutton CCG
  • Merton CCG
  • Kingston CCG
  • Isle of Wight CCG
  • North West Surrey CCG
  • Coastal West Sussex CCG
  • West Kent CCG
  • Canterbury and Coastal CCG
  • North East Hampshire and Farnham CCG
  • Southampton City CCG
  • South Reading CCG
  • Wokingham CCG
  • Newbury and District CCG
  • North and West Reading CCG
  • Aylesbury Vale CCG
  • Ashford CCG
  • Swale CCG
  • Dartford Gravesham & Swanley CCG
  • Hastings and Rother CCG
  • Oxfordshire CCG
  • Dorset CCG

Source: NHS England