This site is intended for health professionals only

Vision Awards 2010

In a landmark year for commissioning, the Vision Awards recognise and honour those consortia already redesigning services to better meet patient needs

What a year it’s been for GP commissioners.

With the white paper signalling a new era for GP commissioning, this year’s awards come at the perfect juncture to show what consortia can do when given the opportunity.

Finalists were invited to a gala black tie dinner at this year’s NAPC annual conference at the Hilton Metropole, Birmingham, where the celebrations were hosted by comedian and GP Dr Phil Hammond.

Click here to see the winners.

The Department of Health’s managing director of commissioning development, Dame Barbara Hakin, was among those presenting the awards.

New categories for this year included clinical leader of the year, reflecting the growing importance being put on leadership skills for GPs, and two practice nurse awards.

The most popular category was again Improving Services for Patients – consortia are very keen to share how they have improved the patient experience.

And of course we were delighted to include the Williams Medical Supplies Practice Manager of the Year award in the line up.

The judges commented how close some of the entries were and how great it was to learn what commissioning groups have been working on.

Practical Commissioning is proud to be associated with these awards that reward and recognise the hard work of GP commissioning and how it can make the NHS so much better. So heads down until next year when we anticipate even more entries as all GPs come into the fold.

Susan McNulty
Editor, Practical Commissioning

The judges

Thanks to our Vision Award judges:
Mike Ramsden – Chief executive, NAPC
Maggie Marum – Director, NAPC
Dr Steve Feast – Deputy chief executive and director of transformation, NHS Luton
Ben Gowland – Chief executive, Nene Commissioning
Dr David Colin-Thomé – National director for primary care, Department of Health
Simon Knighton – Chief executive, Expert Patients Programme
Jill Matthews – Director of primary care improvement, Department of Health
Dr Charles Alessi – GP and NAPC executive board member
Jenny Greenfield – National committee member, RCN Practice Nurse Association
Tina Bishop – National committee member, RCN Practice Nurse Association
Kate Howie – Chair, RCN National Practice Nurse Association
Prunella Neale – National committee member, RCN Practice Nurse Association
Dr Alistair Moulds – GP and Pulse editorial adviser
Steve Dunn – Chief executive, Williams Medical Supplies