This site is intended for health professionals only

GPs awarded New Year’s honours

Five GPs have been recognised for their achievements by the Prime Minister in the New Year honours list.

Dr Geoffrey Hanlon, Dr Satbir Singh, Dr Theodore Weston and Dr Davinder Kupar have been awarded MBEs while Dr Alistair Sutcliffe receives the BEM.

Dr Hanlon, a GP in Leicestershire who examines for the RCGP and sits on the GMC’s fitness-to-practice panel, is recognised for his services to primary care. Dr Singh, medical director of Rainbows Hospice for Children and Young People, is honoured for services to palliative care and children and young people, while locum GP Dr Kupar receives his MBE for services to healthcare in Northern Ireland and abroad.

Dr Weston, a GP in Cumbria, receives his honour for services to victims with trauma and Dr Sutcliffe, who practices in Whitby, North Yorkshire, for services to general practice and the community.