This site is intended for health professionals only

New RCGP Council members elected

Six RCGP members have been elected to the college’s governing council following a national membership ballot, including deputy GPC chair Dr Richard Vautrey and Pulse columnist Dr Margaret McCartney.

The six seats were contested by 18 candidates with the other successful candidates named as Dr Una Coales, Professor Bill Irish, Dr Terry Kemple and Dr Nigel Sparrow. They will take up their seats at the College Council meeting in November 2013 and serve for three years.

Meanwhile, the 12 unsuccessful candidates were Dr Pete Deveson, Dr Martin Brunet, Dr Simon Gregory, Dr John Cosgrove, Dr Chandra Kanneganti, Dr Ben Riley, Dr Alan Hassey, Dr Nigel Mathers, Dr Jonathon Tomlinson, Dr Jaspreet Grewal, Dr Stuart Sutton and Dr Dom Patterson.

RCGP chief executive and council returning officer Neil Hunt said: ‘We congratulate all the successful candidates and thank everyone who put themselves forward.

‘All the candidates had excellent credentials and diverse experience that made for a truly open and close-fought contest. It demonstrates the important role that college Council plays in influencing the future direction of patient care.’