Cookie policy notice

By continuing to use this site you agree to our cookies policy below:
Since 26 May 2011, the law now states that cookies on websites can ony be used with your specific consent. Cookies allow us to ensure that you enjoy the best browsing experience.

This site is intended for health professionals only

At the heart of general practice since 1960

Former chair Professor Clare Gerada one of six elected to RCGP council

The RCGP has announced the outcome of its annual council elections, with ex-RCGP chair Professor Clare Gerada one of six elected members.

Alongside Professor Gerada - who stepped down as chair of the college last November - RCGP members have elected Professor Trisha Greenhalgh, Professor Mayur Lakhani, Dr Elaine McNaughton, Dr John Cosgrove and Dr Clare Taylor. The six will be taking up their posts from November and serve for three years.

Two of the successful candidates, Dr Cosgrove and Dr McNaughton, are new council members, while the other four were re-elected.

RCGP chief executive Neil Hunt said that the election was ‘closely contested’ and that participation ‘more than doubled’ since last year. In total, 15% of college members took part in the elections this year, with 5187 votes cast.

Mr Hunt said: ‘I would like to congratulate all of the successful candidates, and I look forward to working with them - some for the first time - from November council. I would like to thank all the candidates for putting themselves forward and making this an open and closely-contested election. All of the candidates had excellent credentials and valuable experience.’

‘I am very pleased to say that voter turnout was more than double what it was last year, and I would like to thank everyone who voted. We are committed to continue our efforts to increase voter turnout and make Council elections as inclusive of as many members as possible.’

‘Finally, I would like to thank those [members] who will be stepping down in November for the contribution they have made to the college, primary care and the lives of patients over the past three years.’

Readers' comments (4)

  • Congratulations to all six newly elected and re-elected Nationally Elected members of The RCGP Council 2014-17, especially the past chair-persons; Clare Gerada and Mayur Lakhani.

    The problem with success is that it has to be repeated. Please keep repeating.

    Bashir Qureshi
    * Nationally Elected Member of Council, on and off, 1990-2015.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Long live the RCGP and British General Practice.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Was actually nice to have some candidates I wanted to vote for. 3 of those I voted for got elected to council which is an improvement on normal. Good luck all, do great things :)

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • "Long live the RCGP and British General Practice".

    Ha ha ha ha. Good one.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say