This site is intended for health professionals only

Dr Richard Vautrey elected next RCGP president

Dr Richard Vautrey elected next RCGP president

Former BMA GP Committee chair Dr Richard Vautrey has been elected as the next president of the RCGP.

Dr Vautrey stood against six other candidates for the role, which is voted for by the College membership. His term of office will run from November 2023 until November 2025.

Dr Vautrey, who has been a GP partner in a training practice in Leeds for nearly 30 years, will take over the post from Professor Dame Clare Gerada, whose two-year term will end in November.

Dr Vautrey has also worked as a GP in urban and rural settings in Nigeria and his previous leadership roles include BMA GP committee chair in England and GPC UK, and he has also been a member of the GPC negotiating and executive team from 2004.

A graduate of Manchester University, he completed his GP training in Rochdale and Manchester, obtaining MRCGP in 1994. He has been a member of the College ever since.

He has 13 years of experience as a member of RCGP Council, being a GPC observer between 2005-10, a nationally elected member from 2010-17 and again since 2022.

He attends Yorkshire Faculty meetings and has recently been appointed to the College’s Patient and Carers Participation Group.

RCGP Interim Chief Operating Officer and College Returning Officer Mark Thomas said: ‘Congratulations to Richard and to all our new nationally elected members – and thank you to everyone who put themselves forward for election.

‘At a time when GPs are facing enormous workload pressures amid severe workforce shortages, the need for strong College representation has arguably never been more important to our grassroots membership.

‘We look forward to working with our new President and new Council members to improve the working lives of our members and the care they deliver to their patients, now and in the future.’

Election results for six Nationally Elected Council Member seats on RCGP UK Council have also been announced.

The successful candidates are:

Azza Elghonaimy

Aneez Esmail

Chaand Nagpaul

Heather Ryan

Selvaseelan Selvarajah

Emma Wong

They will begin their three-year terms of office from the College’s UK Council meeting in November 2023.



Please note, only GPs are permitted to add comments to articles

Alice Hodkinson 13 September, 2023 2:29 pm

This doesn’t look like a success. He’s a record of talking GP down, saying we don’t need more funds and not showing leadership
What a shame.
I hope he does better than on GPC

Not on your Nelly 13 September, 2023 2:35 pm

I await the serious push back to every “GPs best placed to….” on a daily basis. no. then not fit for purpose. There is a reason I am not a paying member of the RCGP, despite having the passed the examination when it was not even required to get CCT.

Anonymous 13 September, 2023 4:32 pm

Protegee of the tory elite and the current RCGP boys club. Sorry, this is not good news. Nothing will change. London centred elitism prevailed.

John Graham Munro 14 September, 2023 6:40 am

Ah——–but is he an F.R.C.G.P. like Jamie Oliver?

David Mummery 14 September, 2023 7:30 am

Many congratulations Richard !