This site is intended for health professionals only

20 GPs elected for BMA council roles

Twenty GPs have been elected to the BMA council for 2018-2022, including current GP Committee chair and the ex-chair of the RCGP.

Of the 64 newly-elected council members nearly one third were GPs, and included GPC chair Dr Richard Vautrey, ex-chair of the RCGP Professor Clare Gerada and Tower Hamlets LMC chair Dr Jackie Applebee.

GPC clinical and prescribing policy lead Dr Andrew Green was also elected.

A BMA spokesperson said: ‘It is encouraging to see a higher proportion of female members of council compared to previous elections. Congratulations to the successful candidates, who will start in post in late June’.

The full list of GP members elected onto the BMA Council

Professor Clare Gerada – London

Dr Katie Bramall-Stainer – East

Dr Peter JP Holden – East Midlands

Dr George Rae – North East

Dr Rob Barnett – North West

Dr Alex Freeman – South Central

Dr Helena Mckeown – South West

Dr David Craigmyle – South West

Dr Mary Mccarthy – West Midland

Dr Pooja Arora – West Midland

Dr Krishna Kasareneni – Yorkshire

Dr Iain Kennedy – Scotland

Dr David Wrigley – North West 

Dr Richard Vautrey – Yorkshire

Dr Sam Everington – London

Dr Christine Clayton – South East Coast

Dr Andrew Green – Yorkshire

Dr Jackie Applebee – London

Dr Louise Irvine – London

Dr Kailash Chand – North West