This site is intended for health professionals only

Professor Mayur Lakhani elected RCGP president

NHS West Leicestershire CCG chair Professor Mayur Lakhani has been elected as the next president of the RCGP.

Professor Lakhani, who was previously RCGP chair and also sought the president position in 2015, will serve a two-year term from November 2017 until November 2019, succeeding Dr Terry Kemple.

This time around, five members stood for the ceremonial position, Professor Lakhani beating King’s College professor and former GP Professor Roger Jones, editor of the BJGP, in second place.

The other unsuccessful candidates were Professor Rodger Charlton, Dr John Chisholm and Dr Paul Myres.

College members also elected six council members, with the successful candidates announced as Professor Clare Gerada, the college’s former chair, as well as Dr Jonathan Leach, Dr . John Cosgrove, Dr Stuart Blake, Dr Robert Hampton and Dr Martyn Hewett.

Acting chief executive officer and college returning officer Dr Valerie Vaughan-Dick, said: ’Many congratulations to Mayur and to all our candidates for the fair and professional way in which they have conducted this round of elections.

’At a time when GPs and general practice are under unprecedented pressures, it is more important than ever that we have a democratic College that is able to represent our members – and their patients – on the issues that matter most.’

The election had a 12.8% turnout among eligible voting members.