This site is intended for health professionals only

RCGP leaders receive New Year honours

The current RCGP vice-chair and the former chair of RCGP Scotland have both been awarded OBEs in this year’s New Year Honours.

RCGP vice-chair Professor Amanda Howe and former RCGP Scotland chair Dr John Gillies received their honours for services to general practice and primary care.

Professor Howe, who is a professor of primary care at East Anglia University, was RCGP honorary secretary until being elected vice-chair in 2013.The outspoken proponent of four-year GP training will later this year become the first female president of the World Organization of Family Doctors. 

Dr Gillies, currently deputy director of the Scottish School of Primary Care, was chairman of RCGP Scotland from 2010 to 2014, during which time he was vocal in calls to increase funding for general practice.

Meanwhile, Dr Charles Heatley, a GP in Sheffield who helped fight the Ebola epidemic in Sierra Leone, received a CBE, as did NHS England acute care director Professor Keith Willett.

Gloucestershire GP practice nurse Carol Ann Stonham, previously highlighted for her work in respiratory care, received an MBE for 30 years of services to nursing.