This site is intended for health professionals only

Pringle elected RCGP president

The RCGP has announced that Professor Michael Pringle has been elected as the next president of the College.

Professor Pringle will take over the presidency from Dr Iona Heath from 16 November 2012.

He was voted the constitutional head of the College ahead of fellow GP Dr John Chisolm, who came second, and Dr Una Coales who came third.

Previously, Professor Pringle held the position of medical lead for revalidation and chair of Trustee Board and was also chair of RCGP Council from 1998 to 2001.

He has just retired from his practice on the Nottinghamshire-Lincolnshire border, where he worked for more than 30 years, and is currently emeritus professor of general practice at the University of Nottingham. He was awarded a CBE for Services to Medicine in 2011.

Professor Pringle said: ‘I am delighted and honoured to have been elected as the 23rd President of the RCGP. I would like to thank the Members who voted for me and who have put their trust and confidence in me.

‘I would also like to thank my fellow candidates for contesting  this election in a fair, honest and open way.

‘Iona Heath will be a very hard act to follow but I will do my very best to represent the College and support its members.'

The RCGP also announced six nationally-elected council members, with Dr Una Coales, Dr Maureen Baker, Dr Tim Ballard, Dr Terry John and Dr Valerie Wass taking up a three-year term of office from 17 November 2012.


RCGP Presidential ballot – the results:

1. Professor Mike Pringle

2. Dr John Chisholm

3. Dr Una Coales

4. Dr Jacky Hayden

5. D Terry Kemple

6. Dr John Oldham

Click here for the full breakdown of results