This site is intended for health professionals only

2012 RCGP presidential election: the candidates

Last week Pulse revealed the names of the six GPs standing to be the next president of the RCGP.

Ballot papers will be sent out on Monday 14 May. Here is a list of the six candidates and a link to their presidential statements.

Please note Pulse has contacted all six candidates for their presidential statements, but has yet to reach every candidate. The RCGP was unable to provide Pulse with copies of the statements, and declined to put Pulse in direct contact with the presidential candidates. However the RCGP does plan to publish the manifestos of all six candidates on its own website on Monday 14 May.

Dr John Chisholm

Dr Chisholm was a hugely influential GPC chair, negotiating the 2004 deal that created the QOF and secured an opt-out for out-of-hours care.

He is currently the RCGP Health and Wellbeing Boards lead.


Read Dr John Chisholm's full statement here.



Dr Una Coales

Dr Coales is a nationally elected Council member and GP in Stockwell, south London. She has been an outspoken supporter of the Government's health reforms and is secretary of Conservative Health.

Dr Coales came second in the presidential election three years ago.

Read Dr Una Coales' full statement here

Professor Jacky Hayden

Professor Hayden is the postgraduate dean for the North Western Deanery and an associate for the GMC. She is also a board member of Medical Education England, chair of the English Deans Committee, vice-chair of the Conference of Postgraduate Medical Deans of the United Kingdom and the longest-serving member of RCGP Council.

Read Professor Jacky Hayden's full statement here.

Dr Terry Kemple

Dr Kemple is a GP in Bristol and is clinical champion at the Primary Care Research Network for the South West.

He has gained Fellowship of RCGP and completed the RCGP Quality Practice Award three times. He has also studied at Harvard to improve the performance of physicians and look at how recertification works

Read Dr Kemple's full statement here.

Sir John Oldham

Sir John Oldham was the first GP to gain an MBA at Manchester Business School. He created the Primary Care Collaborative and accredited Leadership for Quality Improvement programme for GPs and staff. He is an independent member of the NHS National Quality Board and latterly clinical lead for QIPP. 


Read Sir John Oldham's statement here.



Professor Mike Pringle

Former RCGP chair Professor Pringle is now the college's clinical lead for revalidation and head of the School of Community Health Sciences at the University of Nottingham.  In 2004 he helped establish a not-for-profit education centre based in his practice in Collingham, Nottinghamshire.

Read Professor Mike Pringle's full statement here.