This site is intended for health professionals only

Eight GPs receive MBEs in New Year’s honours list

Manchester LMC chief executive Dr Tracey Vell is among a host of GPs receiving honours in the Queen’s New Year’s list.

Dr Vell, a GP at the Surrey Lodge Group Practice in Greater Manchester, has been awarded an MBE ‘for services to primary care’.

This comes as Pulse’s 2017 Power 50 list said Dr Vell had ‘set an example of how to represent GPs at a time of great change’, mainly with regards to her tireliess work for GPs to play a prominent role amid the devolution of national powers and funding to CCGs and local authorities in Greater Manchester.

Dr Sarah Jarvis, a GP in West London who has spent over a decade as resident doctor on both TV and radio, will also receive an MBE from the Queen, ‘for services to general practice and public understanding of health’.

More MBEs are being handed to Dr Anwara Ali, a GP at the the Spitalfields Practice in East London, ‘for services to community healthcare’; Dr Jane Bruce, clinical director for the out-of-hours service at NHS Tayside, ‘for services to general practice and primary care services’; and Dr David Evans, a GP at the Budleigh Salterton Health Centre in Devon, ‘for services to the community’.

The same honour is also awared to Dr Alistair Emslie-Smith, a GP at the Arthurstone Medical Centre in Dundee, ‘for services to healthcare, particularly diabetes treatment in Scotland’; Dr Sanjiv Kumar Shridhar, a GP in Nantwich, Cheshire, ‘for services to primary care’; and Dr John Wood, a GP at  the St Elizabeth’s Medical Centre, ‘for services to general practice in Leicester’.

GPs receiving New Year’s honours

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Dr Anwara Ali, East London

Dr Jane Bruce, Tayside

Dr David Evans, Devon

Dr Alistair Emslie-Smith, Dundee

Dr Sarah Jarvis, West London

Dr Sanjiv Kumar Shridhar, Nantwich, Cheshire

Dr Tracey Vell, Greater Manchester

Dr John Wood, Leicester

Source: Government New Year’s honours list 2018