This site is intended for health professionals only

Pulse scoops two gongs at medical journalist awards

Pulse has scooped two prizes at the prestigious Medical Journalists’ Association summer awards, including editor of the year.

Editor Nigel Praities was awarded the top accolade for his work on the Battling Burnout campaign and Pulse’s coverage of the row over MRGCP exams, among other major stories.

Reporter Alex Matthews-King won story of the year for his analysis of the fiasco, which included reports of anonymous doctors risking their careers to opt patients out of the scheme.

Alex was also shortlisted for young journalist of the year, while news editor Jaimie Kaffash was shortlisted for professional staff journalist of the year.

These awards are the latest in a long line of MJA awards for Pulse, including Jaimie winning scoop of the year at last year’s winter awards and Madlen Davies winning young journalist of the year at last year’s summer awards.

Other previous winners include former senior reporter Gareth Iacobucci, who won the investigative reporting award at the 2011 awards, group clinical editor Adam Legge won health editor of the year at the summer awards in 2011.

In the same year Lilian Anekwe scooped the award for best professional readership (news), while Pulse won publication of the year at the 2010 summer awards