This site is intended for health professionals only

Three candidates to stand for RCGP chair

Three GPs are in the running to be named the RCGP’s new chair. 

Professor Martin Marshall, Professor Kamilla Hawthorne and Professor Simon Gregory are the candidates to replace Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard when her tenure concludes in November. 

The election was opened with a hustings at the RCGP Council meeting on Saturday 22nd June, and the role is elected by Council members. The term typically runs for a three-year period, and responsibilities include acting as a spokesperson for the news and issues affecting the profession.

Professor Martin Marshall is vice chair in external affairs at the RCGP and Professor of healthcare improvement at University College London, also leading their Partners Primary Care, Community Care and Population Health programmes and Improvement Science London, promoting the science of improvement across the health service and academia.

London-based and a GP for almost 30 years, he has also been a non-executive director at the CQC, deputy chief medical officer and director general at the Department of Health. He previously ran for the position of chair in 2016.

Professor Kamilla Hawthorne is a vice chair at the RCGP, being elected in 2015 to work on professional development. Associate dean of Medicine and director of Medical Education at the University of Surrey, she has also been an MRCGP examiner for over 20 years.

She has represented the RCGP Council for the South East Wales Faculty since 2007. 

Professor Simon Gregory is chair of the Medical Ethics Committee at the RCGP, and a nationally-elected member of its Council. He is Health Education England’s lead for general practice and practices as a GP in Northampton. 

The results are believed to be announced later in the summer.