This site is intended for health professionals only

Two GPs selected for House of Commons health committee

GPs complexity

A second GP has been selected to sit on the House of Commons health and social care committee.

Dr Luke Evans, a GP in Oxford and the MP for Bosworth, has been selected by the Conservative Party.

He joins fellow GP Dr James Davies, the Tory MP for Vale of Clwyd, in the final line-up for the health policy scrutiny body.

As previously reported, former health secretary Jeremy Hunt has been elected to chair the committee.

Other committee MPs with experience from the health service include pharmacist Taiwo Owatemi (Labour) and former Liverpool Women’s Hospital chair Rosie Cooper (Labour).

In the previous Parliament, the committee was chaired by former GP Dr Sarah Wollaston, who lost her MP seat in December after defecting from the Tories to the Liberal Democrats.