This site is intended for health professionals only

GP commissioning champion among heavyweights vying for RCGP presidency

Leading commissioning GP and influential health policy advisor Dr Michael Dixon has announced he is standing in the upcoming election for president of the RCGP.

Current RCGP Council members Professor Mayur Lakhani, Dr Terry Kemple and Dr Colin Hunter have also thrown their hats into the ring for the election, which opens on 5 May and runs until the end of May.

Dr Dixon – who practices in Devon – is chair of the NHS Alliance and also sits on the board of NHS Clinical Commissioners.

Council member Professor Lakhani – a past chair of the College – practices in Sileby, Leicestershire, and is on the board of NHS West Leicestershire CCG. He is also a leading expert in palliative care and chairs the influential Dying Matters Coalition.

Dr Hunter is currently chair of the RCGP’s trustee board and previously oversaw the college’s high-profile move to new headquarters in Euston Square when treasurer. Dr Hunter recently stood down as chair of the NICE QOF advisory committee.

Dr Kemple is a GP in Bristol, GP educator for the Severn Deanery and GP research champion for the NIHR Clinical Research Network West of England.

The new president will replace Professor Mike Pringle, emeritus professor of general practice at Nottingham University, who took up the role in 2012.


Visit Pulse Reference for details on 140 symptoms, including easily searchable symptoms and categories, offering you a free platform to check symptoms and receive potential diagnoses during consultations.