This site is intended for health professionals only

First 34 CCGs authorised by NHS Comissioning Board

The NHS Commissioning Board has today announced the first wave of 34 CCGs authorised to control health budgets in their local areas.

Just eight of the 34 CCGs have been authorised with no conditions, meaning they fully met all 119 authorisation criteria.  The NHS Commissioning Board said the remaining 26 authorised CCGs need to ‘continue developing’ so they too meet the criteria in all areas. 

One CCG – NHS Liverpool CCG – which originally applied to be in the first wave of authorisations has deferred its final review after making significant late changes to its commissioning arrangements.

In a statement, the NHS Commissioning Board, said it had agreed with the CCG that the final review should be deferred until later in the process.

Sir David Nicholson, chief executive of the NHS Commissioning Board, described the creation of CCGs as a ‘great opportunity for the NHS that will have real benefits for patients’.

He added: ‘CCGs have the knowledge and expertise to lead the improvements in services that we all want to see.  We are determined to push power to the front line where talented clinicians and their teams can make a real difference.’

Dame Barbara Hakin said: ‘CCGs have admirably risen to the challenge. There is, of course, more to do and we will continue to provide support as appropriate. But these CCGs are to be congratulated on the fantastic achievement of establishing themselves.’

The NHS Commissioning Board will complete the authorisation process for the remaining 177 CCGs in a further three waves, publishing the results in January, February and March 2013.

Dr Charles Alessi, NHS Clinical Commissioners (NHSCC) interim chair said:

‘It is to be welcomed that several CCGs have been authorised with no or
minimal conditions. Where the NHS Commissioning Board has decided
that decisions need to be signed off or approved by the board we would
expect this to work in a supportive and facilitative manner so as to
ensure that conditions are lifted as soon as is practicable. As we move
towards 1 April 2013 we trust that the NHSCB will be working with CCGs to
ensure that the maximum number of conditions is met and CCGs are fully

‘We understand that the authorisation process is an important one to verify
CCGs are ready to take on their significant responsibilities. However the
role of the NHS Commissioning Board is to ensure that CCGs are fit to deliver on their
responsibilities it is not to second guess or micro-manage how they deliver
positive outcomes for their populations. We look to the board to get the
balance right and ensure they are empowering and supporting clinical
leadership to develop and flourish.’

Dr Michael Dixon, interim NHSCC president said: ‘Locally led clinical commissioning has today taken a major stride forward.
‘Clinical commissioners are already beginning to tackle issues head on
working with their local community’s to develop their own solutions that
respond to local needs and patients’ concerns.

‘We know that the NHS has to confront significant financial challenges in the
years ahead. CCGs have the opportunity to do things differently, build links
across health and social care and deliver innovative solutions to help
secure the long-term future of the NHS.’

The 34 authorised CCGs are:

·         North of England - NHS Blackpool CCG; NHS Calderdale CCG;  NHS Cumbria CCG; NHS East Riding; NHS North East Lincolnshire CCG; NHS Oldham CCG; NHS Rotherham CCG; NHS Wakefield CCG; NHS Warrington CCG; NHS West Cheshire CCG.

·         Midlands and East - NHS Bassetlaw CCG; NHS Dudley CCG; NHS East and North Herts CCG; NHS East Leicestershire & Rutland CCG; NHS Great Yarmouth and Waveney CCG; NHS Leicester City CCG; NHS North Staffordshire CCG; NHS Sandwell and West Birmingham CCG; NHS Shropshire CCG; NHS Stoke on Trent CCG; NHS West Leicestershire CCG.

·         South of England - NHS Bedfordshire CCG; NHS Gloucestershire CCG; NHS Kernow CCG; NHS Newbury and District CCG; NHS North and West Reading; NHS Oxfordshire CCG; NHS Portsmouth CCG; NHS Somerset CCG; NHS South Reading CCG; NHS Wokingham CCG.

·         London - NHS Islington CCG: NHS Kingston CCG; NHS Wandsworth CCG.