This site is intended for health professionals only

RCGP appoints Amanda Howe as new president

The RCGP has elected Professor Amanda Howe as its next president, following a national ballot.

She follows in the steps of Professor Mayur Lakhani, who will complete his two-year term as president in November.

Professor Howe is currently the RCGP’s East Anglia faculty provost, and has previously served as RCGP vice chair for professional development and honorary secretary.

She is also the immediate past president of the World Organisation of Family Doctors (WONCA) and a professor of primary care at the University of East Anglia.

Professor Howe will take over from Professor Lakhani later this year and will remain in office until November 2021.

Seven college members were vying for the seat, including Professor Rodger Charlton; Dr John Chisholm; Dr Sunil Gupta; Professor Amanda Howe; Professor Roger Jones; Dr Imran Rafi; and Dr Carter Singh.

The turnout of the elections was 14% of college members who were eligible to vote, according to RCGP.

RCGP chief operating officer and college returning officer Dr Valerie Vaughan-Dick said: ‘Congratulations to Amanda, and many thanks to the other six candidates who stood for the role of RCGP President. It was a truly fair and open contest.

‘Amanda brings a wealth of experience of the College, academic primary care and frontline general practice. We very much look forward to working with her.’

Elsewhere, the RCGP recently rescinded its invitation of Julia Hartley-Brewer to its upcoming annual conference.