This site is intended for health professionals only

The Malcolm Tucker award for most vigorous denial

This long-standing award goes this year to the Department of Health, whose disdain for apathetic GPs and Pulse journalists hit new lows when it responded to our investigation into how many GPs had put themselves forward to contest CCG elections (answer: not many). The DH spokesperson’s statement?

‘It is codswallop to say there is a lack of GP interest in commissioning.’ Magnificent stuff.

A runner-up award, meanwhile, goes to the BMA, which prompted delegates at its Special Representative Meeting in March to demand an electronic vote on the key motion amid fears that ‘otherwise representatives may be intimidated‘.

<<Return to awards