This site is intended for health professionals only

NHS England reveals full list of CCGs to take on GP contracts from April

NHS England has revealed the first set of CCGs that will take control for commissioning the majority of GP contracts and services from April this year, with 65 making the cut.

As part of a push to improve local primary care, 64 CCGs from across the country have initially been given the green light to take on full delegated commissioning responsibility for GP services but more may follow, NHS England said.

Out of 77 CCGs that applied, one more as yet unnamed CCG is expected to gain approval subject to making some governance changes. This means 65 CCGs are expected to be holding GP contracts, performance managing practices and setting up local incentive schemes from April.

Co-commissioning plans already being rolled out by CCGs include a £95-per-patient guarantee by NHS Bolton CCG to practices reducing emergency admissions while NHS Sandwell and Birmingham CCG was already budgeting a £1m per year investment in GP commissioning staff. Elsewhere, in the Thames Valley area, CCGs are planning to delay clawbacks of funding from PMS practices to 2016.

The move follows plans spelled out early last year by NHS England chief executive Simon Stevens to give patients, communities and clinicians more scope in deciding how local services are developed. Since then the plans have developed into CCGs taking one of three levels of ‘co-commissioning’ responsibility.

This includes the full delegated option as well as joint commissioning with NHS England’s area teams and greater involvement in commissioning. Decisions on which CCGs will be approved for joint commissioning will be made in the coming weeks.

NHS England’s national commissioning strategy director Ian Dodge said the number of CCGs approved to take on the full delegated role was ‘a vote of confidence’ in CCGs.

He said: It is part of our commitment to deliver a new deal for primary care. And it’s a critical step towards joining up the commissioning system, which in turn will help unlock new models of integrated care described in the NHS Five Year Forward View.’

GP and CCG lead Dr Amanda Doyle, who heads NHS England’s co-commissioning oversight group, also welcomed the news, saying the wider role of CCGs would ‘enable a shift in investment from acute to primary and community services and to enable money to follow the patient’.

NHS England said CCGs that had been unsuccessful in their bid would get help to ‘achieve the commissioning model that works best for them’.

CCGs set to commission GP services from April


NHS Sunderland CCG

NHS North Durham CCG

NHS Durham Dales, Easington And Sedgefield CCG

NHS East Lancashire CCG

NHS Greater Preston CCG

NHS Chorley And South Ribble CCG

NHS Blackpool CCG

NHS Fylde & Wyre CCG

NHS Blackburn With Darwen CCG

NHS Bradford City CCG

NHS Bradford Districts CCG

NHS Calderdale CCG

NHS Wakefield CCG

NHS Scarborough And Ryedale CCG

NHS Harrogate And Rural District CCG

NHS Vale Of York CCG

NHS Barnsley CCG

NHS Rotherham CCG

NHS St Helens CCG

NHS Liverpool CCG

NHS Knowsley CCG

NHS Halton CCG

NHS Oldham CCG

NHS Wigan Borough CCG

Midlands and East

NHS South Warwickshire CCG

NHS South Worcestershire CCG

NHS Birmingham Crosscity CCG

NHS Sandwell And West Birmingham CCG

NHS Dudley CCG

NHS Birmingham South And Central CCG

NHS Telford & Wrekin CCG

NHS Shropshire CCG

NHS North Derbyshire CCG

NHS Hardwick CCG

NHS Mansfield & Ashfield CCG

NHS Newark & Sherwood CCG

NHS Nottingham North & East CCG

NHS Nottingham West CCG

NHS Nottingham City CCG

NHS Erewash CCG

NHS Rushcliffe CCG

NHS Southern Derbyshire CCG

NHS Lincolnshire West CCG

NHS Lincolnshire East CCG

NHS South West Lincolnshire CCG

NHS South Lincolnshire CCG

NHS East Leicestershire And Rutland CCG

NHS Leicester City CCG

NHS West Leicestershire CCG

NHS Castle Point And Rochford CCG


NHS Tower Hamlets CCG

NHS Waltham Forest CCG

NHS Newham CCG

NHS Redbridge CCG

NHS Barking & Dagenham CCG

NHS Havering CCG


NHS Eastbourne, Hailsham And Seaford CCG

NHS Hastings & Rother CCG

NHS High Weald Lewes Havens CCG

NHS South Eastern Hampshire CCG

NHS Fareham And Gosport CCG

NHS West Hampshire CCG

NHS Portsmouth CCG

NHS Gloucestershire CCG

Source: NHS England