This site is intended for health professionals only

RCGP chair handed CBE in New Year Honours list

By Gareth Iacobucci

RCGP chair Professor Steve Field is among a host of GPs and health service leaders to be honoured in the Queen's New Year Honours list.

Professor Field - who has been awarded a CBE - has led the college since November 2007, and has been credited with helping to steer the profession through a turbulent period of upheaval.

Other key figures to be recognised were NHS chief executive David Nicholson, cancer tsar Professor Mike Richards, and Andrew Dillon, head of NICE, who all received knighthoods.

A total of seven GPs were named in the honours list:

• Professor Steve Field, RCGP chair and GP in Birmingham (awarded CBE)

• Dr James Hall, a GP in Belfast (awarded OBE)

• Dr Charles Bird, GP in Henley, Oxfordshire (awarded MBE)

• Dr Stephen Burns, GP in Rotherham, South Yorkshire (awarded MBE)

• Dr Timothy Carney, GP in Hexham, Northumberland (awarded MBE)

• Dr Stephen Liversedge, GP in Bolton (awarded MBE)

• Dr Mary McNee, GP in Glasgow (awarded MBE).

RCGP chair Professor Steve Field has been awarded a CBE RCGP chair Professor Steve Field has been awarded a CBE

Complete relevant Ear, nose and throat CPD modules on Pulse Learning by registering for free, or upgrade to a premium membership for full access at only £89 a year.